What to start with?

If I didn't have the biggest budget (read: I'm a low income freshman), what piece of Indy gear would you recommend me start off with? I can check Indy Gear for info on pricing and stuff, but what item should I get first?

I

Indy's_main_man

I started with the jacket. 300 dollar disney collectable instead of a real one...but this jacket is nice so I went with it.

Then I moved onto Fedora. Then whip and finally right now i'm working on the bag.

I

Indy's_main_man

I'll be able to vouch for that as soon as I get mine.

But the jacket is something you can wear alot also. SO i'm gonna say go for either first depending on which you think you'd wear more.

IndyMcFly

Respond to Disney stuff like drugs, "Just say no." Forget about that jacket, (sorry IMM) and wait until you can get a jacket that you can brag was made by the same jacket that made the jackets for the films, a Wested... besides, they're cheaper than the Disney jackets, until you pay for shipping and import tax if you're not in the UK.

In Christ,
Shane

QueZTone

heh all these threads about indy gear make me want to buy a Wested or Akubra again...

but then again i need a new pc too! damn...need to win the lottery!

VP

Moderator Emeritus
If you're a teenager, you should get the bag first. Then the whip or holster and guns. You can't outgrow them.

Your profile says you're 14. Then you'll probably grow bigger, so you shouldn't get a leather jacket. You could get a cotton Wested.

chipuk

my first piece of gear was a wested,
I dont have the problem of getting taller, just expanding sideways( which I keep under check)

I thought it was something that I would use all the time ( and do)

IMHO if you are looking for something that looks really indyesque
then I think it is either the jacket of the fed.
Being on a tighter budget then as ren said the Akubra federation