Ark of the Covenant reconstruction

enigmata_wood

Using my training as a Technical Illustrator I have drawn a probable reconstruction of the Ark of the Covenant. It's based on the Biblical description and dimensions, the latest theory about which of many surviving stone figures might be an actual seraph and on decorative motifs contemporary with the Ark.
to see it go to
http://s498.photobucket.com/albums/rr345/enigmata-wood/?action=view&current=ark.jpg
Experts' feedback is always welcome,
I may even make a replica in 3D
Enigmata

P.S. yes the Star of David was in use decoratively in that period but not yet as a national emblem, that only came after WWII. So I took one [permissible?]liberty

Pale Horse

Staff member
There would be undoubtably some nods to the Egyptian legacies they were so entrenched in. I would favor that instead of the star, personally.

WillKill4Food

I definitely agree with Pale Horse on that.
Maybe you could have several different symbols instead of 12 Stars of David. Like you could have the symbols of each of the 12 tribes. That'd be cool.

WillKill4Food

Here are the symbols, but, if you want to know, you'll have to look up which symbol corresponds to which tribe yourself.

It's pretty easy to research, but this image should suffice if your just putting the symbols (and not there tribe names) on there:

287845.JPG

ProfessorChaos

Ideas, hints, and tips for designing the Ark...

I've got some ideas about the Ark that I thought may be helpful. This is probably going to be a very long post, though, since there's a lot to consider regarding designing the Ark of the Covenant. Anyhow, let's begin...

First off, I agree that it wouldn't be a six-pointed star on the Ark, and I've discovered the symbol they most likely *would* have used in it's place: