I'm writing my first novel next month...

Indyologist

Thanks to National Novel Writing Month, I'm writing the first draft of my first-ever novel next month. I would appreciate any encouragement and general cheerings-on as well as well-deserved razzing and nyah-nyah-nyahs if I don't finish or if I slack off in my writing next month. The event goes from 11/1-11/30 this year.

Better yet, if you're an aspiring writer, why not stop being a "one-day" novelist ("Sigh. I'm going to write a novel 'one day'.") and do it with me! I've never done this before, but the community I've joined is extremely supportive and funny as H-E-double-hockey-sticks. So join us or PLEASE support me as I attempt to pound out 50,000 words in 30 days!

You can encourage, lambast and otherwise support me here at the Raven on this thread. I'm also going to post updates on my brain-numbing endevor here as well. Thanks in advance for your support. The book called No Plot? No Problem! by Chris Baty is the book based on this event and is an essential read before starting the frenzy that is called NaNoWriMo. I look forward to your encouragement and good-natured teasing. Especially your encouragement. :hat:

http://www.nanowrimo.org/

kongisking

I'm trying to write my own book as well, although whenever I share it on these forums they never get any replies for some reason. It makes me feel really rejected and disappointed. :( (n)

As a bit of a writer myself, I say go for it! My trouble is that my ideas are not sustainable enough to reach novel length. Achilles Heel is about a vagrant who starts stalking/annoying a businessman. It's a comedy but it really only has the legs for a short story. 50,000 words seems a mountain. I hope you've got your climbing gear?!!!

:eek:

Indyologist

kongisking said:
I'm trying to write my own book as well, although whenever I share it on these forums they never get any replies for some reason. It makes me feel really rejected and disappointed. :( (n)