why Temple of Doom is an awesome movie

bungle92

Well, this is my first time posting here and I couldn?t come up with any topics to discuss so I thought I should write up a review of why Temple of Doom is not only a great movie but also worthy of calling itself an Indy film.

First of all I agree that the film does lag behind in some ways to it's predecessor and it's sequel. Willie Scott's constant screaming can get on one's nerves at times. The film also focuses more on the action than the story and as a result the film doesn't quite have the balance between great story and action the other two have. Also, there isn't many clues to find the stones. Part of the fun of the other two was seeing Indy use his archaeological knowledge to uncover clues and deciphering them. The Sankara Stones don't really invest our interest as the Grail or the Ark. It's also never clarified how the Thuggees will use them to drive the British out of India and rule the world.

Still, Temple has it's good points:

- Harrison Ford's great performance. I like how we get to see Indy's dark side in this film and see that he looks like he's really enjoying taking part in the brutal bloodletting of the Thuggee when he's drugged in the Black Sleep. Indy looks like he could kill anything in his path and very nearly kills Short Round and Willie. I liked the references to Humphrey Bogart as well: Indy's "Casablanca" suit at the nightclub and the tip of the hat he gives to the snake statue in the Temple and his entire "fortune and glory" character arc.

-The film scores points for not being a retread of Raiders. It has a different setting, mood and story, sidekicks for Indy, different villains for him to go up against. I certainly didn't mind the film's gloomy, downbeat feel at all. In fact, that's something that gives the film it's own personality. Hey, after all the film is called 'The Temple of Doom".