TheRaider.net
 

Go Back   The Raven > Beyond the Films > Indy Video Games
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2015, 02:11 PM   #26
libovec
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Infernal Machine resources

Hello everyone!

I've been playing IM for a realy long time and lately I got an idea of getting as much as possible out of the .GOB resource files. You know, sounds, textures, models, maps...

The sound went out with Indiana Jones Infernal Machine Toolbox, which extracted the GOBs and CNDs.

The models (indy, weapons, various objects, vehicles and so on) are in .3do and can be opened and viewed in 3D Object Converter.

As for maps, at first I thought that models of maps would be within the same folder with other models, but I cant find any..
Does anybody know where to find these?

And textures are I think in the .mat files, but I cant find anywhere how to extract it.
Does anybody know how to extract the .mat files?

Thanks!
libovec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2015, 07:25 PM   #27
Lambonius
IndyFan
 
Lambonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 627
The game runs fine for me using this installer, but I've noticed that the game always defaults to 16-bit color, even when I clearly select 32-bit in the graphics options. Any idea how to force the 32-bit color? Anyone else have this issue?
Lambonius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2015, 05:21 AM   #28
kohlmark
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Innsbruck - Tyrol - Austria
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambonius
The game runs fine for me using this installer, but I've noticed that the game always defaults to 16-bit color, even when I clearly select 32-bit in the graphics options. Any idea how to force the 32-bit color? Anyone else have this issue?

We also know this "bug" of the game. We tried to fix it in the last weeks and months. But it was not possible till now.
To play the game on 32bit color depth, you can change it in the video options ingame, by using shortcut [i] oder [ESC], for entering the inventory.
Unfortunately, you have to do this change, after every restart of the game.

One week ago, i finished building my "Retro" computer, with Windows 98 SE.
Until then, i thought, that this problem was an bug, by using modern operating systems, but i recognized, that same issue, occurs on Windows 98SE. I will do some test on the retro computer, in the next days.

We also tried to costumize the registriy settings and more, but actually, we were not able to fix it till now.

At the Moment we are trying to modify the reading buffer of the installer, for better compatibilty, with older CD-ROM Drives.

If we will be able to fix the 16Bit/32Bit issue in the future, we will upload the new installer for sure.
kohlmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2015, 05:31 AM   #29
kohlmark
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Innsbruck - Tyrol - Austria
Posts: 16
Here you will find compatible savegames (direct Link):
http://img.replaying.de/Infernal-Machine-Savegames.rar
Link to the thread:
http://www.replaying.de/leserartikel...ames-download/

Furthermore you can download covers here, if you need (link to thread):
http://www.replaying.de/leserartikel...machine-cover/

Link to all readers articles (german: Leserartikel):
http://www.replaying.de/leserartikel/

P.S.: I uploaded the image files, also on coverlib.com, but there i had to compress the pictures. On replaying.de i uploaded the original files.
kohlmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2015, 08:21 AM   #30
fz902
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Messing with Cog scripts. (All items/unreachable places)

After discovering a resource-extractor, I learned that apart from materials, models, etc. there are also loads of Cog scripts extracted. I decided to edit them for fun and to see, what I can achieve despite my awful programming skills. Well, the results are better than I thought. For instance I was able to edit the All Weapons Cheat so it gives me EVERY possible item and 9999 ammo and the Canyonlands script so Indy doesn't slide at the beginning and that the level finishes straight after walking into the finish trigger. What's so special about it ?

This is what I always wanted to achieve when I was a kid:



Yes, the Parts actually work. I was shocked when I realised that the enemy behavior is programmed to ignore invisible player when the player wasn't supposed to be !







What else does the new cheat give us ? Unused items ! What were they originally designed for ? Share your thoughts.





Scrapped Shambala Waterworks items ?









Were we originally supposed to find a lever handle ?



Was the secret map originally added to the inventory after buying ?



Unnamed treasures. Normally inaccessible through the inventory:





How about accessing inaccessible areas ? No problem.

















If there's anyone interested in this "hacking", wants more areas to be shown or savegames/scripts to be shared, let me know.
fz902 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2015, 10:30 AM   #31
Lambonius
IndyFan
 
Lambonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohlmark
We also know this "bug" of the game. We tried to fix it in the last weeks and months. But it was not possible till now.
To play the game on 32bit color depth, you can change it in the video options ingame, by using shortcut [i] oder [ESC], for entering the inventory.
Unfortunately, you have to do this change, after every restart of the game.

I did a little fiddling around with this, and I seem to have been able to achieve the 32bit color depth by doing something similar to what you mentioned. Changing it in-game does seem to work, but as you said, it has to be done every time you restart. Changing it from the launcher, however, does not work--it always defaults to 16bit when the game actually loads.
Lambonius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 01:50 PM   #32
libovec
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Hi,
yesterday I upgraded my PC to Windows 10 x64. Everythyng runs just fine... Except for Indy. On win 8.1 x64 it was without any problems, but now it crashes anytime I press the Resrume play in luncher... Is there somebody with the same issue who managed to find a solution?
Thanks.
libovec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 06:34 PM   #33
Lambonius
IndyFan
 
Lambonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 627
I would hold out upgrading to Windows 10 for as long as humanly possible. The brand new operating systems always cause huge problems for older software right out of the gate. If you're lucky, someone may develop a fix to run Indy on Windows 10 a year or two down the line, but I wouldn't hold my breath.
Lambonius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 04:54 AM   #34
kohlmark
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Innsbruck - Tyrol - Austria
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by libovec
Hi,
yesterday I upgraded my PC to Windows 10 x64. Everythyng runs just fine... Except for Indy. On win 8.1 x64 it was without any problems, but now it crashes anytime I press the Resrume play in luncher... Is there somebody with the same issue who managed to find a solution?
Thanks.

I have to appologise for my very late reply, but i was not able to sign in, to the raven.net for many weeks. Now the administrators were able to fix the issue.

We are working to upgrade the installer, cause the *.sdb file is not loading. This is the reason, why the launcher crashes, if you want to load a saved game.
Actually you can only perfom a workaround, starting a "new game" and load the savestate ingame.

Kind Regards.
kohlmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2016, 12:51 PM   #35
kohlmark
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Innsbruck - Tyrol - Austria
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohlmark
You can download it here (direct link):
http://www.replaying.de/wp-content/p...load.php?id=80

The installer continues to be regularly updated, if there will be done new modifications in the future.
It is possible, that some anti virus software, will detect malware, but i promise, the files are absolutely clean!


The installer has recently been updated. The issue with the *.sdb file has been fixed.
Now it always works on Windows 10.

Again by replaying.de and indiana-jones-forum.de user "Penumbra" - Very Thanks!
(The installer has been created from replaying.de user and Administrator "Malte")

The bug concering the crashing launcher, if you want to load a saved game, can not be fixed at the moment. You still have to perform the workarround, to load the savestate ingame.

Kind regards
Markus
kohlmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 08:50 PM   #36
Electroshock
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 2
If anyone on Windows 10 is still having issues with the item pick-up/inventory bug, I may have found a solution.

I've found out that I never get the pick-up/inventory bug when I'm running screen recording software. I'm using Shadowplay from NVIDIA and I've completed the game without an issue. I've also tried the free Apowersoft recorder that you always have to access via their website. It's not good for recording gameplay, but if you want to play Infernal Machine then it's still a useful alternative if you don't have a built-in recorder like Shadowplay. So yes, that means that every time I want to play Infernal Machine, I have to record. Every. Time. Oh well. It's sooooo much better than constantly resetting the level or using strategic quick-saves every time I want to pick up something.

Apparently, if I read this correctly, running Windows Media Player fixed this issue in Windows XP. Just for kicks, I did try this, but it no longer works. Recording software seems to have taken Media Player's place as the go-to fix.

As a disclaimer, I cannot promise this will work for you as I have only tested this on my computer. I don't know if it has something to do with my current set-up or whatever. But I think it's worth checking out.
Electroshock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 01:09 AM   #37
kohlmark
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Innsbruck - Tyrol - Austria
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electroshock
If anyone on Windows 10 is still having issues with the item pick-up/inventory bug, I may have found a solution.

I've found out that I never get the pick-up/inventory bug when I'm running screen recording software. I'm using Shadowplay from NVIDIA and I've completed the game without an issue. I've also tried the free Apowersoft recorder that you always have to access via their website. It's not good for recording gameplay, but if you want to play Infernal Machine then it's still a useful alternative if you don't have a built-in recorder like Shadowplay. So yes, that means that every time I want to play Infernal Machine, I have to record. Every. Time. Oh well. It's sooooo much better than constantly resetting the level or using strategic quick-saves every time I want to pick up something.

Apparently, if I read this correctly, running Windows Media Player fixed this issue in Windows XP. Just for kicks, I did try this, but it no longer works. Recording software seems to have taken Media Player's place as the go-to fix.

As a disclaimer, I cannot promise this will work for you as I have only tested this on my computer. I don't know if it has something to do with my current set-up or whatever. But I think it's worth checking out.

The problems conercing stucked inventory, are caused by "to" fast cpu´s.
I suppose that this workarround works in this/your case, 'cause screen recording requires many Performance most of time.

In the past, the inventory bug was fixed, via running a lot of applications in the background, but this was the time, processors like Pentium 4 were the best available hardware.
Nowadays, where we have CPUs with lots of cores and potent hardware, something like this is not enough any longer.
So i think Screen recordering may be a viable alternative.
kohlmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 09:37 AM   #38
Canyon
IndyFan
 
Canyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Originally from the UK but now living in Pennsylvania, USA!!!
Posts: 2,210
Kholmark, THANK YOU for posting this!

I managed to play Infernal Machine again after several years and it works beautifully!!!

Thanks once again!
Canyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 11:46 AM   #39
kohlmark
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Innsbruck - Tyrol - Austria
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canyon
Kholmark, THANK YOU for posting this!

I managed to play Infernal Machine again after several years and it works beautifully!!!

Thanks once again!

You´re very welcome!
I am happy about every single person, which is able to play this jewel of a game again :-)
kohlmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 05:52 PM   #40
IMfan
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Dear, fz902

Can you please tell me how you hacked on your game? My game has cog strips too, but i do not know how to hack on them. Be awfully nice how to do that.
IMfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 02:29 AM   #41
kohlmark
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Innsbruck - Tyrol - Austria
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMfan
Can you please tell me how you hacked on your game? My game has cog strips too, but i do not know how to hack on them. Be awfully nice how to do that.

Sry, but i am not able to tell you the method which was used for performing this tasks, cause I am not the programmer myself, which had done this.
The programmer was "Penumbra" of the german Indiana Jones Forum.
kohlmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 07:52 AM   #42
IMfan
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
I don't mean you. Kohlmark. I mean that guy called fz902. Thank you for replying me
IMfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 03:05 PM   #43
Marduk
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMfan
Can you please tell me how you hacked on your game? My game has cog strips too, but i do not know how to hack on them. Be awfully nice how to do that.

WARNING: this will be longer post

TL;DR: To give indy all available items put this code at the end of 00_cyn_opening.cog file just before return statement:
HTML Code:
for (bin= 0; bin < 200; bin = bin + 1) { SetInv(player, bin, GetInvMax(player, bin)); SetInvAvailable(player, bin, 1); }
Make sure to backup file first!



##############################################
I'll try to make this post as short as possible
All information about cog scripts can be found here and here

I assume that you already know how to extract COG scripts from GOB files.
By the way, if you need a tool to do that I've made one: gobext.exe

Brief intro to COG scripts
From jkhub:
Quote:
The COG Scripting Language is an event-driven imperative scripting language designed to help level designers write simple interactivity without requiring extensive programming experience. While COG was initially developed as an incremental improvement over the INF Scripting Language used in Dark Forces, COG quickly grew into a more complete language as the level designers continued to request more advanced features.
Cog scripts are logic behind the game. They are used to define game level opening animation, special effect when player enters some section within level,
they also define AI action on some special event eg. when hit by the bullet or what to do when the enemy is spotted etc...
Fundamentally COG scripts consist of two sections: symbols and code.
Each section begins with section name(symbols or code) and ends with word "end"
HTML Code:
symbols # Comments symbols [Symbol List] end code [Compound Statement] end

Symbols section is a list of variables described by their type followed by their name, optionally including a default value and a list of extensions.
Example of symbol section
HTML Code:
Symbols # Example outlines message startup # message type is a "function" within code section # that can be called from game engine when compiled. keyframe in_handsOnHips=0in_stand4.key local material topMat=pyr_jeep_top.mat local sound in_gotowork=Cn01j01.wav local thing player local # This is you, game player. thing indy linkid=0 # actor indy for cinematic movies. you will see a lot of this definitions in cog scripts which define game levels. end

Note that some variables such as things and keyframes are initialized by game engine when loading cnd file
and you don't have much control over it, for now I'm still working on it

Code section contains a C-style compound statements of code with messages indicated by C-style label statements. Note that every line of code that is not a comment (comments begins with '#') or a loop (for(){}) has to end with semicolon ';'

HTML Code:
code startup: # Note the name that we've declared in symbols section SetMasterCog(GetSelfCog()); Sleep(0.001); # Let engine get set up SetThingAlpha(fadeplate, 1.0); SetThingAlpha(fadeplate1, 1.0); SetThingAlpha(fadeplate2, 1.0); SetThingAlpha(maintitle, 0.0); SetThingAlpha(placetime, 0.0); SetCameraLookInterp(2, 0); SetCameraPosInterp(2, 0); SetCameraFocus(2, cam_1); SetCameraSecondaryFocus(2, ct_1); SetCurrentCamera(2); SetCameraFOV(25, 0, 0); return; end

I hope that this very brief crash course has made the cog scripts a little bit clearer.


Ok let's move on to real example
For the purpose of this short tutorial, I will be editing canyon lands opening script 00_cyn_opening.cog. Make sure to backup file before continue. To run this script you have to start IM from the beginning. All code in this tutorial will be written at the end of cog file just before the return statement:
HTML Code:
# RT: Give 'im a snake bite kit... SetInv(player, 46, 1); SetInvAvailable(player, 46, 1); ---> All code goes in here return; end

For start, let's make the gravity a little bit lighter. By the default the gravity is set to 2.0 let's make it 1.0. To do that just write this line: SetGravity(1.0);
In the game try to jump in the air and see what happens

Give Indy weapon:
Now let's give Indy a Simonov SKS rifle. Under the previous line write this two lines:
SetInv(player, 6, 500);
SetInvAvailable(player, 6, 1);


SetInv function gives indy inventory at the number 6 (Simonov rifle) and sets rifle's ammo to 500. The SetInvAvailable makes rifle available to indy (1- true, 0 - false). Note the 'player' object is type of thing. It was defined in symbols section of this cog script and initialized by the game engine. Instead of player thing you could use any other thing that is of type actor eg. you could also change inventory of an enemy with this two functions.

All Items:
Let's give Indy all available items (200). We'll use for loop to achieve this:
HTML Code:
for (bin= 0; bin < 200; bin = bin + 1) { SetInv(player, bin, GetInvMax(player, bin)); SetInvAvailable(player, bin, 1); }

You should now have all available items:







Make Indy Invulnerable:
SetActorFlags(player, 0x8);

Flags are thing's properties that can be set or unset. Flag Ref


Flying indy:
Now let's make something interesting. Let's make indy fly
First comment out or remove the line that sets gravity (SetGravity(1.0);).
Then put this two lines:
HTML Code:
ClearPhysicsFlags(player,0x1); # set player to have no gravity SetPhysicsFlags(player, 0x2000); # player can fly

In game use jump key to fly up and crouch key to move down.





I hope that this long post will help you mod IM. Note that with cog scripts you can modify everything including the shape of game level. But for now this is hard to do because you have to know symbol variables that are packed in cnd file. I'm working on conversion tool to convert cnd file to NDY file which is text based level definition file. If you are interested I've made tool to extract and replace materials in cnd files. You can find more info about this in my post here.

Happy modding
Marduk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 07:23 AM   #44
IMfan
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Thank you! But how can you backup a COG file? And every time I try to save a COG file it shows "access is denied". Is there anyway to bypass that? I'm using Notepad to edit these COG files

Last edited by IMfan : 04-09-2017 at 07:40 AM.
IMfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 02:03 PM   #45
IMfan
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Never mind, i figured it out, but it's complicated. Can you please tell me where I put the codes at?
IMfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 06:57 AM   #46
Marduk
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 14
Put the code at the end of 00_cyn_opening.cog script file just before the "return" statement and run the game from the start (1st level).
Marduk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 08:43 AM   #47
IMfan
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Thank you!
IMfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 11:39 AM   #48
IMfan
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Btw, every time I get to a new level it wipes out most of my stuff, is there a fix?
IMfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 05:33 PM   #49
Marduk
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 14
Unfortunately not, since cog scripts defined in levels are unloaded at the end of level.
Marduk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 08:10 PM   #50
IMfan
IndyFan
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Very well, but is there a way to edit the cheats?
IMfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.