Paris

AlivePoet

I'm currently planning a trip to Paris for about 10 days during my university's reading break in February. I'm still pursuing a flight for around $500 from Montreal, though without much luck at this point.

As I'm mostly broke due to being a student, I'm trying to find the cheapest ways to survive in Paris for the duration of my stay. Even hostels for $50 or under are too expensive for my bank book; I've considered couch surfing, and staying at monasteries, the latter of which I've heard good things about but have never experienced. Has anyone ever stayed in one, or know of a dirt-cheap way to find shelter for ten nights?

Stoo

Hey, Alive Poet.

Greetings from another Montrealer!:hat:

Paris is beautiful but I can't recommend any cheap places to stay. Try and pick up a copy of "Let's Go Europe", the budget travelers bible.
It's updated every year and should be easy to find in any decent bookstore. (Don't buy a used copy unless it's a 2008 or 2009 edition.)
If $50 a night is too rich for your blood, then God's Speed. There is a tunnel network underneath parts of the city. Maybe you can find your
way down there for a place to curl up. Just make sure you don't freeze to death.:dead:

Just found this site with some hostels for around $33 CAN/night.
http://www.net-booking.net/search/search.php

Anyway you should resurrect your other thread that was closed. (Strange that it was closed and not moved to the Globe-Trotting section.
I guess Attila was feeling grumpy that day.:p ) The Traveler's Thread

AlivePoet

Thanks for the reply Stoo, when were you last in Montreal? Don't suppose I'd recognize you even if I saw you. :hat:

$33 a night is definitely reasonable, but I'm so cheap that I can't reason my way into staying at one. That may well change once I arrive.