Who is archaeologist ?

ElodieJones

Are in this forum real archaeologist ?
Or student in archaeology?

Now I make a formation of draftswoman in building.
And after, I would be archaeolgist.

westford

I was an archaeology student. I'd like to go back to it some day on a voluntary basis - but I couldn't make a career out of it.

ElodieJones

You are teh only one in this forum ???

Why you "was" ?
You stop your formation ???
Why "but I couldn't make a career out of it."

dameain

In third year of college, double major in Anthropology and History, with major emphasis in Archaeology.

westford

ElodieJones said:
You are teh only one in this forum ???

Why you "was" ?
You stop your formation ???
Why "but I couldn't make a career out of it."
I'm now studying multimedia - I want to be a web developer or designer. Archaeologists in Britain don't make much money. A lot of excavations use volunteer diggers, so it can be difficult to get paid work unless you have a lot of experience.

Snakewhip_Sable

I have an Advocational Archeologist Certificate. I don't really know what that means, but I've been on a few digs and I found some 3,000 year old bison bones of animals slaughtered and processed by native aboriginals. It was fun, but nothing I'd like to continue as a career.

Routledge

I'm thinking of taking up archaelogy. Not just because I'm a huge Indy fan, but I think it would generally be of interest to me.

Shovelbum

I'm a former archaeologist. I've done both academic work, and worked as a shovelbum... that's someone who does contract work - CRM (Cultural Resource Management) - which is required as part of the environmental impact study for all building projects that receive fedral funding. Most (but not all) states require it as well.

I've been on American digs from paleo-Indian to historic pioneer projects.
I've also done some work in Germany on Iron Age burial mounds.

DaFedora

Hi Elodie,

(came across this while looking for anything academic and archeology-related)