Are there any real life archeologists here @ the Raven?

I'm not an archaeologist... but I did do two years of volunteer work for the archaeology department at a state park back home... mostly did a whole lot of screening, but I did get to do a little digging twice...........

I

Indy_Jones88

Im not one personally, but Tennessee R is. I plan to work in a field closely related to Dr. Jones though. HISTORY!

Indyologist

Wow... I'm impressed with all of you! :D I'm going for my Masters of Library Science, so I can assist you in the library! Like Indy said (in LC):

Indy: So forget any ideas you've got about lost cities, exotic travel, and digging up the world. We do not follow maps to buried treasure and X never, ever, marks the spot...

Indy: Seventy percent of all archaeology is done in the library. Research. Reading.

westford

I was an archaeology student and went on a few digs. Few jobs and next to no money in it though (in the UK at least). A couple of my friends are still doing it; one is off to Cyprus soon to work on her Masters research.

Finn

Staff member
History. Literature. The two subjects I walked out with highest possible grades from the exams that finished my secondary studies. (Some of you may have noticed I'm rather well versed.)

And I had a chance to participate on one major dig too. We had lot of professionals, people using surveyor's tools. Trucks. Equipment. Two weeks... and I had a chance to hit my shovel in hard gravel once and once again.

Then I got to mix cement and asphalt too. It became one pretty and straight piece of road, even though I say for myself.

<small>Oh yeah, and warehouses. Now I don't think any people here has spent so many hours working in them than I have.</small>

Pilot

I'm not an archeologist, but I have stayed at a Holiday Inn. Seriously, History, Archeology, and Geography are three of my favorite interests/hobbies.

Aaron H

Moderator Emeritus
I've done some poking around, but nothing major or official.